Table of Contents
Texan teenagers do not have the same rights on the roads as other drivers, and Texas driving license restrictions exist for new young drivers to ensure they avoid traffic violations and a criminal record.
Ensuring safety for all
Most teenagers cannot wait to get their driver’s license so that they get the freedom to go about independently. In Texas, however, as a young, first-time driver, Texas driving license restrictions may apply to ensure the roads remain safe and that young driver do not cause havoc on the roads.
GRADUATED DRIVER LICENSE LAWS (GDL) allow teenage drivers to harmlessly gain experience of driving in low-risk conditions before they obtain full driving privileges. GDL laws outline the restrictions and limits for new drivers aged between 15-17. Texas’ GDL laws have been designed to help teenagers safely and gradually develop their experience and skills behind the wheel. It’s important that teenagers and their guardians understand the laws and obey them.
Cars have the potential to be dangerous, particularly when driven by first-time drivers. If you do pose a risk to other drivers on the road, your driver’s license can be restricted.
Rules and restrictions apply to all-age Texan drivers
There are quite a few rules that apply to all Texan drivers, regardless of age. The state imposes some special restrictions on older drivers. Texas driving license restrictions require that drivers between 79 and 84 years of age have to renew their licenses in person every 6 years.
Those over the age of 85 have to renew their license every 2 years. Older drivers like this also have to take a vision test and undergo a medical evaluation process too when they renew their licenses.
Anyone whose eyesight is less than 20/70 with correction or 20/40 without correction will need to see an eye specialist. Nothing is set in stone, and Texas driving license restrictions can also be imposed on older drivers such as not being allowed to drive on the freeways, only being allowed to drive during the daytime, not being permitted to drive over 45 miles an hour among others.
Texas driving license restrictions for first-time drivers
Applying for a driver’s license for the first time is a huge milestone to tick off on important life events. Texas, just like most of the other states, has a graduated license program.
Texas driving license restrictions are applied to young drivers, but as the young driver becomes used to the roads and gains experience, they gain additional privileges. Teen drivers will have a B-restriction on their license if they have not undergone any formal driving education classes.
To have the B-restriction removed, the teenager must first complete these education courses. This B will be on your license for the sake of insurers. Higher premiums are charged for those who have not had any formal driving training. The ‘B’ will be removed once the driver’s education classes have been completed.
They can start with the program by the time they are 15. Applicants are required to take an approved driver’s education course. This is quite extensive and includes about 32 hours of classroom instruction and 44 hours of driving training. The driver to be will also require at least 10 hours of night driving.
After the first 6 hours of the education class, the young driver can then take the written examination for the permit. Those wanting to apply for the test can find all they need to be covered in the Texas Drivers Handbook.
Joining the Graduated Driver License Program
Young drivers in Texas can apply for their learner licenses when they are 15 years of age. They will have to meet all the licensing requirements and one of them is that they can only drive with a licensed adult who is older than 21 years of age.
Drivers who are under age 18 in Texas must have had their learner’s license for 6 months or longer before they can advance to the next step in the process of getting a learner’s license.
When a teen gets their learners license, they have to comply with the restrictions of the Texas Graduated Driver License Program. Holders of this learner’s license have to have a licensed driver who is older than 21 with them in the car.
Texas teen driving laws are intended to keep young drivers safe. As they mature, the roads open up better privileges for them.
Provisional driver’s license
Getting to be a good driver in Texas can take a while but it is simpler than you think and if the teen has good knowledge of the road and practices good driving behavior then they can get the full unrestricted license by the time they turn 18.
Once he has met the conditions of the learner license, the teen in Texas is able to apply for the provisional driver’s license. The provisional license remains in effect till the teenager turns 18. During this time, the following Texas driving license restrictions will be in place –
- No use of any kind of mobile device and that includes hands-free devices.
- No driving is allowed between midnight and 5:00 am.
- Only one non-related rider under 21 can be permitted in the vehicle at a time.
Young restricted drivers are not exempt from the law, and you can still receive a traffic violation while on a learner license. If drivers break traffic laws on a restricted license, a court can increase the number of months for a restricted license before they become eligible to test for a full license.
The driver may also be required to take extra courses as punishment for the violation.
Texas driving license restrictions are meant to be adhered to. In the state, if you have for any reason found yourself on the wrong side of the law, get hold of a skilled attorney. The last thing you want, particularly as a young teen driver, is to start off with negative marks on your new driving record.